18+ Warning

This website contains nudity and age-restricted materials. If you are under the age of 18 years, or under the age of majority in the location from where you are accessing this website, you do not have authorization or permission to enter this website and should immediately exit. Otherwise you may enter this site ONLY if you agree to, and comply with, all the Terms of Service.

  I Agree — Continue to Site
Leave Site

Industry Awards Site Recovers Missing 1985-'93 XRCO Winners

Published on November 16, 2017 by Aiwards

The adult industry hasn't always been very concerned about its history, and one of the gaps in that history has been information about the XRCO Award winners from 1985 to 1993, with the only extant data being some of the winners in the Best Actress, Best Actor, and Video of the Year categories. However, after a long search, we — the Adult Industry Awards Database (AIWARDS) reports that the missing information has been recovered.

Our founder Alex stated that the publication of complete information about the XRCO winners in all categories has been one of the goals of his organization since the database was launched this past Summer. Searches were conducted for several months, and adult fans were heavily involved. During this time, the XRCO website itself had posted a call-to-public: "We are trying to get the winners prior to 1993. If anyone has a list of any prior to 1993, please contact the XRCO via the contact option above. It would be greatly appreciated!" Those efforts have finally borne fruit, and full information about all laureates is now available on the AIWARDS site.

During the course of its research, we managed to put together some interesting facts, gleaned from videos, magazines, newspaper articles and photos from the era. For instance, from 1985 to 1993, John Leslie was the most awarded male actor of the genre, receiving nine awards for his multiple talents. Second place in number of trophies received belongs to Italian actor Rocco Siffredi, with eight awards. Third place is shared between Tom Byron and Jamie Gillis with seven awards each. Tracking down the most awarded female star was more difficult, but in the end the winner turned out to be Nina Hartley. She received six XRCO's Hearts (the shape of the group's trophy), which is a record among all XRCO award recipients. The second, third, fourth and the fifth places are shared among Ashlyn Gere, Erica Boyer, Ginger Lynn and Jeanna Fine.

Among the most popular movies was VCA's 1984 film, Every Woman Has a Fantasy, which received a total of five trophies. Deep Throat 2 and Taboo American Style are the runners-up, with four awards each. In terms of producers, VCA was the clear winner, receiving over 40 awards durring that nine-year period. Second place, with 15 awards, belongs to Evil Angel, and third place, with 12 awards, went to Caballero Video.

Detailed information on the winners of the 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992 and 1993 XRCO shows can be found on the AIWARDS website.

The Adult Industry Awards Database (AIWARDS) was launched this past summer. It collects and publishes information about the main prizes and trophies awarded by various award shows in the adult video industry. The aim of the project is to publish the most complete information about all the industry's winners and nominees since awards for their accomplishments have first been given out. For more information, visit AIWARDS.com or follow on Twitter @aiwards.

Share this page